The Love Embrace of the Universe, the Earth (Mexico), Diego, Me and Señor Xólotl

Most people have seen one of Frida Kahlo painting or the at least know of Frida Kahlo her famous uni-brow and her mustached upper lip self portraits. This is one of her more surrealist paintings. This painting embodies the world, the sun and moon,life and death. All of these are encompassed by the all powerful mother earth  who is the plants and animals. Every thing that makes life on this earth possible.
Frida Kahlo is a highly inspirational  Mexican artist. She painted about beauty and not the everyday idea beauty. The beauty that ever one has even with a few faults. The beauty that is on the inside.

Even though here painting were about beauty they still had a sadness to them. As she painted she held the ideas and what she leaned from being Hispanic.

Mike.”http://www.fridakahlofans.com/mainmenu.html

About eeisel

Hi, I'm Eric Eisel i'm 22 years old and a sophomore this semester in U.A.F. I have lived in Alaska for 12 years in Kotzebue. which is just another boring land locked Alaskan village. Other then that I'm pretty boring to be honest.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Love Embrace of the Universe, the Earth (Mexico), Diego, Me and Señor Xólotl

  1. I am somewhat familiar with Freida Kahlo but I have never seen this painting before. There is a lot going on in it and I find it interesting in some ways. There are many things in the painting that I wonder what they mean. I like how Kahlo personified mother nature. This is a good post and art selection.

  2. Victoria Buckmeier says:

    I have indeed heard of Frida Kahlo and seen her famous portraits. However, I haven’t seen any of her other work. It’s beautiful! Surreal is a fantastic word that describes this painting to a T. I like the idea of encompassing everything around mother earth and I believe it creates quite a powerful image. My favorite thing about this painting is the night/day idea within the picture. The color difference and the way she physically paints is different and it creates a beautiful ying yang idea within her painting.

  3. Karolina says:

    Ah! SO happy that someone included this painting when talking about Kahlo. By the comments you can see that most people were not familiar with the rest of her work, but did know of her fierce uni-brow! She has a variety of other paintings like these that are so very strange, but not up to par as some other Surrealists like Dali. I love the use of color in this painting- she had a way with those greens, I think. Good analysis!

  4. jmarks22481 says:

    Nice choice, and I agree that her depiction of beauty is not always happy. There is almost an insidious, poisonous beauty in this piece. I would only recommend that you put some more of the factual detail of the work in your analysis (date, pigment, medium, etc.)

  5. andr3agi says:

    Your choice is amazing, and you have the most detailed description. You needed some dates though when maybe where created if it was known. Some more bio from the artist would be good too. Still I really admire your choice.

  6. dannerak says:

    What an awesome painting. Surreal for real! I really like the color, and almost mirrored images of the woman. It makes me think that the woman is holding her son, who has grown up. She eventually passes away and is remembered in some kind of monument or statue and eventually turned to dust and spirit which is the largest woman in the background watching over them all. I really like this painting and could picture it on my wall. As for your analysis, I’m not sure that “everyone” has heard of Frida Kahlo, because I had not prior to this assignment. It seems that you have covered everything necessary for this assignment, good work.

  7. JOHN MILLER says:

    IS ANYONE FAMILIAR WITH ” EMBRACE OF THE UNIVERSE ” STATUE BY AGUILAR ?
    IT’S ABOUT 18″ HIGH AND INCORPORATES ALL THE ITEMS AS THE FAMED PAINTING.
    DONE BY THE NEPHEW OF THE AGUILAR SISTERS ?

    VERY HEAVY, VERY LARGE AND SUPER COLORFUL

    JOHN

Leave a Reply

